top of page

AS Roma Season Review


The season ended on March 1st as AS Roma finished 13th, 5 points behind the top half of the table. At the beginning of the season, I wanted to be in the top 10 but maybe I underestimated the quality of the other teams in my division. I failed to reach that target due to being inconsistent. At the beginning, due to the rating restrictions, only young talented players were bought in hopes that they could go into the first team but with the squad cap, I may have sell in order to comply with the rules.

The season started off with a shaky start as we lost to our Italian rivals AC Milan 1 - 0 and then drew with Manchester City. We then got our first win against Inter but after that we couldn't get a win for 7 matches. After the win against Liverpool, we lost to Arsenal and Juventus and then beat Chelsea. Out of the remaining 6 games of the first half of the season, we only got 1 win against Ajax. So we could only get 4 wins out of 19 matches. I think I was 16th at that time decided to opt for a tactic change as the one I was currently using was clearly not working. The second half of the season started off much better as we drew with AC Milan, beat Manchester City and Inter but lost to AS Monaco. We recovered from that by beating Napoli but then losing to PSG. The team then pulled of a shocking 3 - 0 win against Real Madrid and went on a 5 match unbeaten run. The last 7 matches was nothing to be excited about as we won 3 matches and lost 4 which included a 5 - 1 defeat to Barcelona. At least they're gone now. So the first half of the season proved to be our downfall as we amassed only 18 points during the first half 31 points in the second half. If we got 31 points during the first half, I'm sure I would have been in the playoffs. Maybe dropping those match reports made my team start playing for me.

Cups Review:

We weren't successful in competing for the cups as we crashed out to both opponents through red cards, set pieces and injuries. The referees didn't want us to win any cup. I'm sure of it. For the shield, we went out to Inter (who actually won the cup) in a 1 - 0 defeat during round 1. The goal was of course a controversial free kick after my team got 2 red cards. For the cup, we lost 3 - 1 to club Brugge KV at home during Round 3. All three goals were scored through a free kick. At that point, I knew the referees were out for blood.

Player of the Season:

A poll was run on the club website for the player of the season and Dzeko edged out Nainggolan for the award. Dzeko got the award for getting 11 goals, 6 assists and 8 MOM awards. I expected 15 goals from him but his injury and our form denied him that. He got 7.41 average rating.

Season Facts:

Internazionale was the only team that I beat home and away

Biggest Win: 3 - 0 against Real Madrid and Ajax

Biggest Loss: 5 - 1 against Barcelona (Good riddance to them)

Through out the month of November, we failed to win a game

The only team that beat me home and away was Barcelona and PSG.

We got 18 points during the first half of the season and 31 points during the second half.

We only had 2 clean sheets during the first half of the season which came against Atlectico and in the next match which was Ajax.

Season Rating: 6 / 10

Conclusion:

This season was a hit and miss for us with consistency being the biggest problem. An average season at best, we'll be looking to try harder next season. Should the D option win the voting poll, I'll be looking to improve the squad but should A win then I'll have to rely on this squad for the time being look for young stars that will improve the team.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page